Month: May 2013

  • Trying Something New

    I have been strictly Curly Girl since I big chopped on July 24, 2012 except one brief weekend when I tried the Tightly Curly Method

    Tightly Curly Method .  With the one episode of the Tightly Curly Method I had bought some Herbal Essence Hello Hydration   .    I ended up not using it due it containing sodium hydroxide (which I’ve recently learned neutralizes with water so it’s okay to co-wash with; just not ok to use for a leave-in).   So, last Saturday (04/27/13) I decided to step outside of the CG zone and co-wash with the Herbal Essence.  Yes the FEAR was overwhelming but my curosity was stronger.  Herbal Essence contains one silicone: Bis Aminopropyl Dimethicone.  This cone washes out with a low sulfate shampoo or with Cocamidopropyl betaine.  Johnson’s baby shampoo contains the Cocamidopropyl betaine.  

    I decided I would try this new method for one week to see what effects it would have on my hair.  I was actually quite surprised.  My curls became tighter, my hair was shinier, and I ended up with soft curls with no crunch despite the use of the Eco Styler gel.  No scrunching out the crunch was necessary. The most amazing benefit of all:  my edges are starting to grow in.  I attiribute this to the conditioner.  I have been trying to get my edges to grow in for over 9 months.   I ended up washing out the cone this past Sunday (to avoid build-up) with Johnson Baby Shampoo.  I deep conditioned with Shea Mositure Deep Treatment Masque (with olive oil added in for extra moisture).  So far, so good!!  I give Herbal Essence Hello Hydration two thumbs up!!  laughing

    Here is a picture.  These were taken one week apart.  On the left is my hair strictly CG.  On the right is my hair four days after beginning my morning co-wash with HEHH (Herbal Essence Hello Hydration).  I’m psyched!  :)