July 26, 2012

  • The Big Chop

    Well lack of patience got me. I decided I could not wait until December to cut off my hair.  The main reason was trying to figure out how to work with two different textures of hair.  As I mentioned previously I’m not the best at fixing hair as witnessed by my recent attempt to do a twist-out!  It was HORRIBLE!  Or as my daughter used to say when she was 3….it was TORRIBLE (horrible and terrible together).  shocked  Sadly I had to go to work like this because I didn’t have time to wash it and fix it over.  Boy was that an embarrassing hair day!!  sad  So at midnight 07/24/12 (exactly one month post my last relaxer which was on 06/24/12) I chopped it all off!  I had been thinking about it all day!!  I kept telling myself to wait but being patient is not my strong point.  I was eager to see what was under all that relaxer and even more eager to get going on The Curly Girl Method (which I knew I couldn’t do full force with two textures of hair).   My 11-year-old helped me to even it up in the back.  

    Here is my hair before the chop.  So dry and damaged.  It looked like a hot mess!  Even though I had been avoiding heat products for months it wouldn’t return to it’s original luster.  Relaxers had taken it’s toll on my hair.  bitter  

     

    Here is me performing the Big Chop.  shocked  

     

    I thought I might be scared after I made the cut and no going back but I was actually relieved and felt liberated.  laughing  

     

    My daughter was so excited when trimming the back of my hair and spotted some curls.  winky  

     

    Hmmmmm….not sure what my curl type is.  I’m thinking 4a with some 3c.  confused 

     

    My end result.  I’m happy with it.  blush  

     

    I can honestly say I don’t regret doing this.  I know I have a lot of follicle damage from the relaxers and that it will take a while (Lorraine says at least 6 to 8 weeks) to see some positive change.  I’m going to stick with it.  I’m excited about this journey!  happy

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *