Month: July 2012

  • Shout Out to MahoganyCurls

    I would like to take this moment and give a shout-out to Mahogany Curls.  She is the reason I had the courage to go natural!  Thanks Jess!!  

    Check Jess out here:  http://youtu.be/oOrj5ja9DP0

     

    It’s been eight days since I started the Curly Girl Method.  I’m loving my curl definition!  I cowash and condition in the shower with VO5 Moisture Silk (Champagne Kiss) conditioner.  I completely rinse the conditioner out.  I then use Suave Natural Coconut conditioner as my leave in followed by Ecostyler gel (the clear one).   

     

    I honestly never thought my natural tresses would be so pretty.  heart  So happy I had the courage to do this….even if it took 40 years to find my natural self.  laughing

  • Types of Curls

    Lorraine Massey (The Curly Girl Method) has created seven groups to define the different curl patterns.  I will give a synopsis of these groups below.  

     

    Corkscrew Curls 

    You know that your curl pattern falls into this group if your curls are defined by lots of small spirals, your frizz factor is high, you have curls that shrink up as tight as a French poodle’s if your hair is cut too short, your hair appears thickly textured but is actually quite delicate and fine (like a baby’s) when viewing a single strand.  This is why people with your hairs is so fragile and breaks easily.  Your hair will also soak up as much conditioner as you put in it, it will get tangled under the nape of neck because of the natural movement of your head throughout the day, and your hair will have a spring factor (pulling one curl down at a time and measuring) of 9 to 12 inches.

     

    Botticelli Curls

    You will know that you have this curl pattern if you have curls of all shapes and sizes on your head.  Because of this you should never cut your hair when it’s wet.  You will also have looser curls that are the shape of soft S’s combined with a tighter set of curls.    Some of your curls will have a rope-like appearance and your hair will appear to wilt if it gets too long (the weight of the top hair weighs the hair down).  You will have curls that vary with the seasons (looser in some seasons while tighter in others).  Your hair will have a spring factor of  5 to 8 inches.

     

    Corkicelli Curls

     You will know that you have this curl pattern when your curls vary in pattern (versus shape and size like the Botticelli).  You have have tight curls around your face and neck but looser curls in the rest of your hair.  Because of this you should never cut your hair when it’s wet because the curl patterns are not as distinct when wet.  Your hair will be drier than the first two patterns and will have a high frizz factor if not kept hydrated.  Your curl patterns stays the same through all seasons however your hair can appear shorter on longer based on the weather and how humid it is.  Your hair will have a spring factor of 5 to 10 inches.

     

     Cherub Curls

     You will  know that you have this curl pattern when you were born with those curls.  Your curls will resemble those of a young child, spirals that are baby-fine no matter your age.  Your curls easily move about with any interference such as too much touching, the wind or moving around in your sleep.  you were born with those curls.  Your curls will resemble those of a young child, spirals that are baby-fine no matter your age.  Your curls easily move about with any interference such as too much touching, the wind or moving around in your sleep.  Your curls appear translucent  and weightless to the touch almost like a halo.  Your pattern is defined by a different curl lengths on your head and seem to take a long time to grow (but can grow with the right care).  Your curls have a short life span because they break easily from being so fragile.  Your hair will have a spring factor of 5 to 10 inches.

     

    Wavy Hair

    You will know that you have this curl pattern when you have hair that you always assumed was straight, had straight hair when you were little but possibly changed to wavy during puberty.  When coming out of the shower or at the beach your hair will develop an occasional natural wave.  You will have frizz around your crown and on the ends of your hair on humid days.  Your hair will look like it lacks maintenance and will be flat on the crown.  Your hair will appear flat in the winter.  Your hair will be dry on the ends and have a spring factor of 2 to 4 inches.

     

    S’wavy Hair

    You will know that you have this curl pattern when your hair might appear straight in the winter time without any extra effort.  Because of this you will have to put extra effort in to get waves in your hair.  You frizz factor will little to none and your hair will have a natural shine.  Your curl pattern has a slight bend at the ends of your hair.  A layered cut looks best for your hair type.  Your hair has a spring factor of 1 to 2 inches.

     

    Fractal or Zigzag Curls

    You will know that you have this curl pattern when your curls might have a variation of descriptions such as corkscrew, twizzles, micro-spirals or fractal.  A close-up look at your curls reveals a zigzag patter that is almost step-like. This curl pattern is extremely dry and very sensitive to handling.  Your curls remain the same throughout all the seasons.  When the hair is pulled back too tight, relaxed, or has the weight of a weave it will result in a receding hairline for this curl pattern.  Your hair has a spring factor of 9 to 16 inches.

     

     

    Each of these curl patterns have their own unique cleansing routine which you can get more information about in The Curly Girl Method by Lorraine Massey (2010 edition).  happy

  • The Basics of The Curly Girl Method

    The cleansing routine has two parts:

    1.)    Cleansing your scalp

    2.)    Cleansing your hair

     

    Cleansing 

    The amount you cleanse and condition depends on your hair type.  Now, if you’re a shampoo junkie you may want to wean yourself off the shampoo.  To do this stick to your regular cleansing schedule but switch to a sulfate-free shampoo (and preferably one free of silicones like Moisture Milk VO5 shampoo) or a botanical conditioner (like Tresseme Naturals).  As your hair becomes more hydrated you’ll be able to cleanse (cowash less often) and just be able to wet and go to the conditioning step for your curl pattern.  The amount of product you use will probably change over time as your hair becomes healthier.  The tighter your curl, the more conditioner/product you will need.  Damaged hair will also need more conditioner/product.  Most find that they will be able to (after a while) co-wash 2 to 3 times a week and wet-n-go the rest of the week.

     

    Conditioning 

    With the conditioning it is suggested to leave some or all of the silicone-free conditioner (regular conditioner, not leave-in) in your hair.  The method highly suggests gliding the conditioner in a downward motion throughout your hair using your fingers (no combs or brushes).  If your hair is longer follow this method with scrunching the hair up towards your scalp which helps the curl pattern in your hair.  Your hair should feel slippery at this point (sort of like a jellyfish).  You will hear a squishy sound as you do this.  Allow the milky conditioner to flow through your fingers as you squish.  With dryer hair you will hear a less of a squishing sound because most of the conditioner is soaked into the dry hair.  Leave no curl left behind.

     

    Scrunching 

    You should never dry your hair with a towel with this method.  Towels have fibers that can rip the delicate strands of curly hair and cause frizz.  The method suggests using a microfiber towel, a paper towel, or an old cotton t-shirt.  You can actually use anything that is smooth and will absorb water such as a pillowcase.  You should gently blot the hair without twisting the hair strands.  The method calls it “scrunch-squeeze” because you scrunch with an upward motion towards the scalp.

     

     

    Styling 

    The method suggests you use a clear gel that is alcohol-free and silicone-free (remember silicones are those ingredients ending with –cone, -conol, or –xane; xano)such as Ecostyler gel (highly recommended by YouTube users).  The method to use the gel is different based on your curl type (which I will describe in my next post). 

  • The Big Chop

    Well lack of patience got me. I decided I could not wait until December to cut off my hair.  The main reason was trying to figure out how to work with two different textures of hair.  As I mentioned previously I’m not the best at fixing hair as witnessed by my recent attempt to do a twist-out!  It was HORRIBLE!  Or as my daughter used to say when she was 3….it was TORRIBLE (horrible and terrible together).  shocked  Sadly I had to go to work like this because I didn’t have time to wash it and fix it over.  Boy was that an embarrassing hair day!!  sad  So at midnight 07/24/12 (exactly one month post my last relaxer which was on 06/24/12) I chopped it all off!  I had been thinking about it all day!!  I kept telling myself to wait but being patient is not my strong point.  I was eager to see what was under all that relaxer and even more eager to get going on The Curly Girl Method (which I knew I couldn’t do full force with two textures of hair).   My 11-year-old helped me to even it up in the back.  

    Here is my hair before the chop.  So dry and damaged.  It looked like a hot mess!  Even though I had been avoiding heat products for months it wouldn’t return to it’s original luster.  Relaxers had taken it’s toll on my hair.  bitter  

     

    Here is me performing the Big Chop.  shocked  

     

    I thought I might be scared after I made the cut and no going back but I was actually relieved and felt liberated.  laughing  

     

    My daughter was so excited when trimming the back of my hair and spotted some curls.  winky  

     

    Hmmmmm….not sure what my curl type is.  I’m thinking 4a with some 3c.  confused 

     

    My end result.  I’m happy with it.  blush  

     

    I can honestly say I don’t regret doing this.  I know I have a lot of follicle damage from the relaxers and that it will take a while (Lorraine says at least 6 to 8 weeks) to see some positive change.  I’m going to stick with it.  I’m excited about this journey!  happy

  • My Daughter Hates Her Hair

    Finding out I pregnant was the best news I have ever received in my life. Initially I thought I wanted a little boy.  Why?  I was terrified of not being able to fix a little girl’s hair (no kidding).  I had babysat my little cousins numerous times and attempts at fixing their hair was disastrous.  Not to mention, I wasn’t that great at fixing my own which is why my mom and aunt fixed my hair right up until I went to college.  So, when I found out I was having a little girl I was thrillled and scared all at the same time.  So thus began my praying (more like pleading) to God for my little girl to have what’s termed in the black community as “good” hair.  I prayed day-in and day-out (no kidding) because I was terrified I would ruin her life by messing up her hair on a daily basis.  I feared she be mercilessly teased on a daily basis by kids because of the horrible way I fixed her hair.  I even wrote a poem about what kind of hair she’d have when she was born (again, not kidding).  At last the day came for my little one to arrive.  She arrived with a head full of beautiful black hair.  So much hair you could put it up in little ponytails.  happy  However, I knew black children were usually born with “good hair”.  So still, I prayed.  Now please people don’t be hating on me for being truthful.  I was truly scared of ruining my little girl’s life.  Up until my daughter’s ninth month her hair remained thick and straight (and I was breathing a sigh of relief).  Then the unimaginable happened…..her hair started to fall out.  What?!?  shocked  I was terrified her would grow back in a texture I wouldn’t be able to style.  My poor baby girl!!  Stuck with a mother so inept at fixing hair.  sad  My daughter went for 3 months with very thin hair….almost bald and then right after her first birthday something beautiful happened.  Curls!!!  Wonderous little curls popped up all over her head.  Her once shiny, black, straight hair was now beautiful, brown curls.  I was so relieved and thrilled.  Little did I know that this would be an ongoing battle for years to come (11 years).  I had to test several products when she was younger.  First I used baby oil on her hair.  Didn’t work.  Next I used lotion.  That worked better because it was thicker but still not the best.  I finally found something that worked … Johnson’s detangling spray and Aussie spray gel (not with the conditioner).  These two products helped me tame her hair and actually develop some cute little styles along the way.  The problem?  My daughter started school and soon learned that her curly hair was unique and thus began the battle for wanting straight hair.  Even though the Johnson’s detangler and Aussie spray gel worked wonders for upstyles, they did nothing for her hair when it was down.  We’d start out okay with it wet but it would dry and puff/frizz.  This caused her to want straight hair even more.  So,in an effort to make her feel more comfortable in her own skin I tried to straighten it.  But it was so thick and curly that it would never get “straight”.  I did manage to find a few products that helped me to get it somewhat straight but as the day went on it would puff/frizz or if she went to sleep the curls would emerge during her sleep.  So ponytails became her staple along with a constant complaint about her curly hair.  Until John Freida and his 3-day-straight product came along.  Finally a product that helped me get her hair truly straight and stay straight for a while.  She was finally happy.  However, I wasn’t.  She has beautiful curls and I want her to embrace them.  But how can she embrace them when everyone her around her is indicating that straight hair is better….even me by relaxing my hair.  That’s one of the main reasons I decided to ditch the relaxer and go natural.  I’m praying that by accepting my God-given tresses that she will accept hers.  This last week I’ve been making her (yes making her because she doesn’t want to) embrace The Curly Girl Method.  She thinks it’s just another thing that won’t work and I can’t blame her.  She’s experienced a lot with her hair in 11 years BUT I won’t let her excuses get in the way of finally finding something that will help her to truly love her hair and the beautiful little girl she is.  So, after this week of doing The Curly Girl Method something wonderful happened.  Last night while washing her hair she was able to detangle her hair herself with silicone-free conditioner and her fingers (no comb).  This has never happened before.  Detangling usually takes close to 1.5 to 2 hours (no joke).  When she got out and I could run my fingers through her hair I could have jumped for joy (but didn’t want to freak her out).  If I could hug Lorraine Massey (the author of The Curly Girl Method) I would.  My daughter is still not eager to embrace her curls but I’m hoping she will with time while doing this program.  Lorraine promises your hair only gets better with time when doing this method.  I’m praying my daughter experiences what a true gift from God her curls are.

     

    My daughter’s curls

  • Goodbye Hair Products

    Part of The Curly Girl Method is to not use any products with sulfates or silicones (ingredients ending in -xane, -cone, or -conol).  So, I thought I’d go through my hair products (I have a lot) to see which ones I might be able to keep.  Well, seems I’ll be giving almost all of my hair products away.  sad  Why must they put silicones in almost everything?!?  Oh well, this is for a good cause.  Out with the old (damaged hair) and in with the new (natural, healthy hair).  pleased

     

    Here are my products I’m giving away.  What’s sad is this box is layered with products so you can’t even see the ones on the bottom.  

  • The YouTube Search

    My newfound excitement about going natural led me on a search for more answers.  How would I do this?  Chop my hair down to nothing (although I don’t think I possess courage to rock a “boy cut” as my 11-year-old daughter calls it)?  Should I grow it out even though I’m not adept at doing hair (can’t braid, can’t do twists…etc)?  The latter seemed less scary.  So, I decided to collect as much information as I could.  My first stop: YouTube!!  Of course!  It’s filled with numerous videos on how-to.  I looked up how to transition.  I came across many tutorials but my most favorite of them all was MahoganyCurls.  I think she started her natural hair mission in 2009 (don’t quote me on that).  At any rate she was talking about The Curly Girl Method.  What in the world could The Curly Girl Method consist of?  I watched a few of her videos and became more and more intrigued.  Apparently curly hair (as is most African American Hair) needs extreme moisture to reach it’s full potential.  The book?  The Curly Girl Method by Lorraine Massey.  I looked on Amazon to find this book and I did find it but I’m an impatient woman (which is probably is going to work against me while trying to transition).  Anywho….I decided to venture to my local library in hopes they “might” have it.  I was actually quite shocked they did.  In fact, they had both versions.  Lorraine apparently was born a curly girl into a family of people without curls and always felt different growing up.  This differentiation is what led Lorraine to go into hair care and develop her very own curly girl salon (I’m sure it’s not called that but you get the point).  Her salon specifically caters to women with curly hair no matter the ethnicity and her curly method seems to be working for a lot of women no matter the race (per YouTube testimonials).  Her first book (due to my slight OCD I had to read them in order laughing) I wasn’t too impressed with.  It was published in January of 2002.  I hurriedly read through the first sections and then skipped ahead to the section on African American hair.  I was so disappointed.  After stressing so much in the beginning of the book about not fighting your natural tresses, Lorraine had someone write about African American hair and “texturizing”.  Texturizing is not natural.  It is a perm that changes the natural texture of the hair even if ever so slightly.  The remaining portion of the write-up spoke about different braiding styles and updos.  Come on Lorraine!!  I want to embrace my natural hair not be afraid of it (which is what this first printing kind of did….made me a litte afraid).  On to book #2.  This book was printed in December 2010.  Guess what?  Lorraine got with the program and realized that just because black hair is a different texture doesn’t mean that it should be something to be altered or afraid of.  This new book also includes a instructional DVD that actually shows you how to do the curly girl method.  What is the method?  Ditching your shampoo (with sulfates) and co-washing your hair with conditioner (free of silicones).  You see silicones (any ingredient ending with “cone” such as dimethicone, etc.) is very bad for curly hair.  It dries out the hair by creating a thin layer on your scalp so that moisture can’t reach your curls.  And as I stated curly hair NEEDS moisture and lots of it.  It also uses gels (clear gels) free of alcohol.  Ecostyler Gel is highly recommended by YouTube users along with Tresseme Naturals conditioner.  However, I can’t use Tresseme Naturals conditioner.  I am allergic to aloe vera (yeah the one ingredient that is supposed to heal rashes, sunburns, etc. causes a horrific rash on my skin).  So, I searched for other conditioners that were “cone” free.  I found VO5 doesn’t use cones and is very affordable (about .97 cents per bottle).  It is very liquid so I recommend only using that as your cowash and then following it up with a thicker conditioner such as Tresseme Naturals as your leave-in conditioner.  I found Suave Naturals doesn’t have cones, is very thick, and aloe vera free (also very affordable at $1.79 per bottle in my area).  Tresseme Naturals runs a little under $5.00 per bottle.  Yes, I know I said use it as a leave-in conditioner (even though the instructions on the bottles say to rinse out).  This is part of the girly method that helps to truly moisturize those curly strands and transition your mane from a hot mess to beautiful tresses.  Check it out for yourself.  Research on YouTube and either buy the book, download on your Kindle (sp?), or rent from your local library.  I’ve started doing a portion of the method.  I’ve started co-washing with the conditioner and leaving the thicker conditioner on my hair for a while as instructed by the bottle.  I can’t use it as a leave-in just yet because of my relaxer.  Having two hair textures really sucks right now but it is what it is.  My hope is that by ditching the shampoo and co-washing that my natural hair will be in better shape once I do the Big Chop!  laughing  Well it’s on to more research.  Until next time peeps!  

  • The Quest Begins

    I started having problems with my hair a few months ago. bitter Suddenly my medium length mane looked like someone chopped my hair off in the middle of the night on the right side of my head.  How did this happen?  Stress from dealing with a boyfriend who has since been let go.  In the quest to return my hair back to a healthy state I decided that maybe….just maybe….I should ditch the relaxer and go back to my roots.  A very scary thought indeed since I don’t even remember what my natural hair looks like.  I must admit the thought is intriguing and scary all at once.  Do I have the courage to rock an afro puff if my natural locks turn out to be an unruly mammoth?   

    We shall see.  Right now I’m 4 weeks post a relaxer so I will have to wait at least a few more months before I do the BC (big chop).  I CAN do this!  I’m not scared (or am I?).  stunned  Stick with me on my journey to find my roots.

  • Welcome to my blog. My name is Nichole. I started this blog as a journey on my way to finding my natural tresses. If you have any tips on natural hair care, tips on going natural, or products to use please feel free to share. God bless!